What is up with the Name “Cracker” Barrel?

Rose Rock, the mother of comedian Chris Rock, claims she was racially discriminated against when she was seated but ignored for a half hour at a Cracker Barrel restaurant along the South Carolina coast. Rock said Tuesday she planned to sue the Lebanon, Tennessee-based company. A Cracker Barrel spokeswoman said the restaurant chain was investigating and taking the complaint “very seriously.” Cracker Barrel has in the past faced numerous lawsuits and a federal inquiry over complaints of refusing to serve black customers, discriminating against minority workers and firing gay employees. The company has taken steps to rebuild its folksy image and reach out to minorities. I have only eaten at a Cracker Barrel twice over the past 32 years of being black. Seeing that I can use a little more cash, I think that I will start eating at one more. Better yet, I think that I will have class there. Honestly folks, I have heard this for the past 10 years. Think about what Chris Rock will be saying during his next comedy show. Hey, what is up with the name Cracker? Sounds like something from the Jefferson’s.

1 Comment

Filed under Racism

One response to “What is up with the Name “Cracker” Barrel?

  1. My name is Jelisa Stanford. The same thing happened to ny family at the Cracker Barrel in Batesville, MS. My family and I was seated for about 30 minutes and the white server jus kept passing us by and never took our order. What the hell was wrong with her?!?

Leave a Reply

