Return to Arkansas

Since my return from Colorado State University on Tuesday, I have been making a few last second adjustments to my presentation for my European history institute at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR). This will be the first of four I am conducting this summer. The other three will be at Texas Christian University (TCU), the University of Denver’s Center for International Relations, then a one day seminar in Las Vegas. I feel so prepared that I actually remembered to pack a set of business cards. Beyond conducting this institute, there are a number of other reasons why I am looking forward to visiting Little Rock:

  • I get to dine at a few of my favorite restaurants and lounges
  • My high school history teacher is traveling from Alabama to attend; I am really excited about seeing Mrs. Picken
  • Meet a few former CAC students and colleagues. I will probably stay a night with Anita Davis, former AP Calculus teacher at CAC. Next year will be her first time teaching at a school other than CAC. I think she will like the change
  • Take a light walk/run in my old neighborhood
  • Visit Harding and have dinner with Harding University’s administrator Don Eudaly
  • Visit Little Rock’s River Walk at night

Originally I was going to leave this morning for LR, but I stayed out with a group of friends way too late to make the drive, thus I will make a very late evening trip to Arkansas. Although I grew up in Montgomery, Alabama, I call Little Rock home. I get asked all of the time if I would return to LR; my usual response is yes, if the right job at the right school became an option. I am happy here in Houston and at Houston Christian, but a return to LR assuming a place like Pulaski Academy were interested is not out of the question. I was in Little Rock just last August attending Jeff Grooms and Amy Clothier’s wedding; it seems like it has been much longer than that.

2 thoughts on “Return to Arkansas

Leave a Reply

