NASCAR Still Making History

Yes, it is true, I am a big NASCAR fan. Over the past six years I have watched my interest in a sport dominated by whites increase. I do not see why some find this hard to understand. Think of the number of whites who are fans of the NBA, a league that is becoming very global, but still is a league made up of 76% blacks. Adding to the historical significance of a sport that is attracting more blacks, DEI named a black person as its top official. Black Enterprise has a great article about DEI and Max Siegel.

Siegel couldn’t possibly have known what he was getting into when he took over as president of global operations for Dale Earnhardt Inc.

Max Siegel 

He had to referee a multimillion-dollar family feud and try to keep things moving in a positive direction once Junior announced he was leaving. Siegel handled all the turmoil like a consummate pro, doing so with class and polish while brokering a deal to buy Ginn Racing and merge that operation with DEI.(from ESPN.COM)

14 thoughts on “NASCAR Still Making History

  1. Great story. This is good to hear. Still, I cannot watch it. They only make left turns in circles. Sorry to hear that Jeff Gordan lost the Chase. I know you are a fan.

  2. Carson…you know I love you man…but watching cars go in circles over and over again may amuse my cats…but I just don’t get the appeal. Maybe I’m missing something and should rent “Days of Thunder” again. I agree with Jaylon…it’s just left turns. I did use to root for Dick Trickle in the Hielig Meyers car back in the day. But that was just because only a real man would stand by that name.

  3. I see it as a calculated process. Pit stops have to be organized, planned, and timed to the speed of the car. Going to a race, much like hockey, is far better than TV. Each driver earn points for the number of laps he/she is in front. But true, there are a lot of left turns.

  4. I agree with Carson… success in the sport of Nascar requires a great organized process and must be practiced over and over to be successful. And by the way with Jr, Gordon, and Johnson being Hendrick Motorsports top 3 drivers they will surely dominate. Although it may seem like a boring sport it truly is exciting and fun to see in person…. especially if you are fortunate enough to see a wreck from a close distance. And yes there are many left turns.

  5. Maybe if the track was more complex and required more street racing/drifting skills..
    Or maybe if the best part:accidents weren’t sometimes tragic (I feel bad for enjoying someone’s sorrow…actually I’m way too desensitized)

    Then I might consider watching racing. At least you got something on drag racing, what a …drag

  6. I am not a huge Nascar fan, but i do respect the sport. The drivers are in their cars for hours on end and the whole team (not just the driver) must to work together to win a race. It is somewhat boring to watch on t.v. However, im sure it would be exciting to watch in person.

  7. I have tried watching Nascar on T.V, but it is like watching boring commercials, you can’t help but change the channel to something more interesting. However my dad took me to a NASCAR race to show me that it was extremely fun in person. He was right, it is very fun to watch and it is extremely loud and fast pace seeing all the cars pass you at 200 miles per hour, but i still can’t work up the time to watch the race on tv.

  8. “However my dad took me to a NASCAR race to show me that it was extremely fun in person. He was right, it is very fun to watch and it is extremely loud and fast pace seeing all the cars pass you at 200 miles per hour, but I still can’t work up the time to watch the race on tv.”

    🙂
    I have

  9. i just dont think could ever get inot NASCAR, but i know so many people who do enjoy watching it. I guess one would find it more fun to watch rather than watch actual people run around a track liek it do. But that is a very intersting fact, i didnt kow that about NASCAR

  10. I myself am not a huge fan of NASCAR as the my brother is, but he has made me watch a couple of races. It was not all that exciting, but I do have tremendous respect for them, because every time they step into that car it is almost a matter of life and death. One wrong jerk of the wheel or something could mean serious injury or even death. But still it took lot for me to watch the whole race on t.v., but i’m sure if I went in person I might enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

