American Historical Association Meeting:Day One

Day one of the American Historical Association’s 122nd meeting went well. Phil and I attended Edward Blum’s session on W.E.B. Du Bois and religion a few hours after having lunch with him. I will write more on Blum’s session in which he and two other scholars added much insight into matters of race, slavery, and American religion.

We arrived in Washington D.C. late last night. My friend and former student, Alejandro, is allowing us to stay in his condo while he is out of the country. Besides a slow very cold walk to the hotel for the conference, today has been very productive. I hate that I am missing the first week of classes, but I am sure my students are doing well. I hope to write more about today’s sessions when I have more computer time.

5 thoughts on “American Historical Association Meeting:Day One

  1. The NE can be brutal this time of year. Take a cab. Again, I am much interested in reading your thoughts on Blum’s work. I finally ordered his book and am looking forward to and exchange of ideas with you on this matter.

  2. Walking faster did help; it was so cold around 10 last night that we decided to call a cab. Paul, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on the book. I will post a review here for discussion in 2-3 weeks. So if you finish it by then please join in.

  3. JRB,

    I just heard about it a few hours ago; I have been lost in historians’ world of late. I am very sad to hear the news; I will see if you blogged about it. Oh, congrats. on you research and the paper you are drafting. I have an idea about that.

Leave a Reply

