Meme: Passion Quilt

Hugh O’Donnell tagged me for this meme.   

Because many of the blogs I read by educators have already been tagged, I am going to tag the following educators: Mark Elrod, Bald Blogger, JRB, Tenured Radical and Dave’s Internet Lounge.

THE RULES:
Post a picture or make/take/create your own that captures what YOU are most passionate for students to learn about.

Give your picture a short title.

Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt.”

Link back to this blog entry.

Include links to 5 (or more) educators.

                                  My Title: I am Still an Invisible Man

Ralph Ellison’s classic novel, Invisible Man, highlights the challenges many blacks felt in white America:

I am an invisible man. No, I am not a spook like those who haunted Edgar Allan Poe; nor am I one of your Hollywood-movie ectoplasms. I am a man of substance, of flesh and bone, fiber and liquids — and I might even be said to possess a mind. I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me. Like the bodiless heads you see sometimes in circus sideshows, it is as though I have been surrounded by mirrors of hard, distorting glass. When they approach me they see only my surroundings, themselves, or figments of their imagination — indeed, everything and anything except me.

8 thoughts on “Meme: Passion Quilt

  1. Pingback: “Meme: Passion Quilt” » Mark Elrod’s Lame-O Weblog

  2. I love the way the world has changed. I suspect many students see what Ellison addressed and the art piece as being in another world. I fear this.

    Are you watching Black Magic on ESPN? Do you think your black student athletes understand the importance of race and sports?

  3. I wish I could influence some of the young African-American men I see at the high school I work at to read Ellison’s novel. The passage you quoted (first page?) is as accurate now as it was in the early ’50’s. Maybe this generation is different. I have yet to meet young folks, black or white, who are reflective enough to answer the question for me.

Leave a Reply

