Thanks

It is safe to say that I will not be teaching any of my classes this week. Thanks to all of you who are keeping me in your thoughts and prayers. I am in ICU right now and will remain here until Saturday. Dr. Chen and his staff are monitoring me in preparation for surgery on Wednesday. Chen, a very confident neurological surgeon, spoke to me this morning about the process and what he needs to do. This all started on Thursday as I was struggling with headaches and vomiting, but I did not realize the serious nature of the matter.

Christine Metoyer who chairs the department will be playing with my teaching schedule this week; I believe she is going to take over my advanced courses. Thanks Matt Lee for the comment about my hospitalization on the previous post.

50 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. Eddie…just ran across this on your blog. I will inform your FFL family of the situation so that we can be praying for you…what happened?

  2. Ed – I am sorry to hear about this. Please know that Brandy and I are keeping you in our prayers. If there is anything we can do for you, just say the word.

  3. We’re praying for you and y’all, brother. Have peace and rest in the good grace that covers you. Give J our love and be strong and courageous.

  4. Eddie…I sent you a personal e-mail, but wanted to post here as well.

    We are all thinking of you. You haven’t left my thoughts much today at all and I find myself praying for you all the time. We love you.

  5. Wow Eddie! So very thankful that the doctors are helping you and that you’re getting the medical attention that you need. We are praying for God to heal your body. We love you and Janette!

  6. Emily and I are praying for you brother. We pray that will have a succesful surgery and a swift recovery. We pray that you will be filled with grace, strength and peace through all of this.

  7. GET BETTER! So you can get e-mail? I promise I won’t e-mail about class stuff.

    So that debate we had during chapel was somewhat interesting; I hope someone’s told you about it. I’d have to see you in person to tell you everything, but my favorite quote was after Charlie had said something supporting the UN; then it was Jeff’s turn and he just belted out: “The UN is a corrupt bureaucracy!” or something like that. That got some pretty good laughter and applause!

    Again, I say, GET BETTER! ’cause the world needs that brain o’ yours. And please, for goodness sake, don’t worry about us!

  8. I chose today to look at your site after over a month of NOT reading your wisdom. Why? Jealousy, pure and simple. I’m envious of your great education and your patience in constructing arguments, etc.

    Even though I declare myself Taoist/Buddhist when I register on one of the dating website, I’m not willing to say “no” to the Creator. I’m praying for you and your health. Give these docs a copy of Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos to do surgery by, OK? Keep them focused.

    You make a positive impact, Carson, keep it up!

  9. Eddie – I want you to know that my family and I are praying for your healing and complete recovery. Please let me know if I can help in any way.

    I have been looking at your blog and reading about your life since I heard about your condition “through the grapevine.” I can see how God is using you to influence students for a life of learning, citizenship and service. Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

    -CC

  10. Eddie,

    Please know that you are in my prayers as well as Brad’s. I hope for a speedy recovery. Let us know if you need anything!

  11. For those of you (like me) who have been checking Ed’s blog for an update, here is what I was just told:

    Ed’s surgery went very well. The doctors removed what turned out to be a cyst. He is expected to return home next week. I’m sure he and Janette would appreciate our continued prayers for his speedy healing.

  12. hey phillip (young i’m assuming?)! nice to see a recognizable name or two:) hi mrs wynn!! eddie, just wanted you to know we’re still praying for you around our house until you’re on your feet and back to your self again…. hugs for you too janette, hope you’re doing well too!

  13. Carson we miss you in class… I feel like I am being swayed by Mr. Sivils’ conservative ideology… I think I’m turning Republican!

    No no I’m just kidding, but get well and come back soon and we’re all glad you’re doing well!

  14. Eddie we just wanted you to know you have been in our prayers and on our hearts. We are so glad to learn that the surgery went well. Ashley sends her love and prayers too.

  15. Dr. Estes scared the poo out of me when she called. I’ll be happy to help out in any way. Folks are praying for you here Eddie. Get well soon.

  16. Edwardo! I Facebooked you earlier, but though I would post here at Mecca– glad you are back. I’m looking forward to chatting about this experience with you. You are loved, my brother. –jim

  17. Carson, I am and have been praying for you and so are many others here in Little Rock. I hope you heal soon and that sometime we can meet up next time you’re in the Natural State.

  18. Eddie…so glad to hear that you are doing well…we are still thinking of you and praying for you daily. I’ll try to call next week to see if you’re up to talking yet.

  19. Eddie, Ronnie came home and told me about your surgery. He said he was told it went well. We are thinking about you, and Janet hope all goes well and you will be back to yourself in a few days. We still love you and think about ya’ll often. Egena

  20. I’d say you’re going to come back to classes full of conservatives, but I’m sure you’re already used to dealing with that.

    Glad to hear everything went well. See you when you come back.

  21. Hey!

    Janette called us the day you went into surgery…needless to say, it was a huge shock to both Amy and I. We got on the horn and called everyone we knew that you were close to at CAC and PV. There’s a card on the way from Amy and I to your ICU bed (hopefully, the nurse we spoke with was pretty adamant about not sending gifts etc.). We pray for your health and that you will be on the road to recovery as soon as possible. Its a good thing you are at one of the finest neurosurgical hospitals in the world…I don’t think any other institution could handle a mind like yours!

    -Jeff and Amy (and our pup Berlioz)

  22. Thanks to all of you for the thoughts and prayers. I am back home recovering. I wish you knew how much each and all of you thinking and praying for me has meant. My head is a little less of the ballon it was yesterday.

  23. We are praying for you in Dallas. Get better man…relax a bit…not every essay has to be graded by the end of the week. Take it easy Hombre!

  24. Oh, man! I’ve been so busy with school that it’s been a little while since I have checked your blog, and now i see you had been in the ICU. I hope you’re doing OK and recovering well. I wish you the best.

  25. I am surprised you came back so fast man I would have defendant milked the surgery for all it has. Man your hair now it no growing in so well where the scar is.

Leave a Reply

