The C.V.

I have asked a few academics, administrators,and students to participate in a series of blog pieces that address the nature of schools and teaching. Many of the post will reflect independent school life; I am still hoping to ask a few others to make a contribution to this. Though I am waiting for a few pieces to arrive, I hope to add some insight into my profession with some hopes at assisting others who are considering this path. I will start the first series off by briefly addressing the need to have a curriculum Vitae and maintaining it. Because I am often asked to do various things that involves travel, research, writing, and teaching, I have kept my CV published. When I am looking to ask a person to help me with a project, the first thing I want to see is his or her CV.

I arrived to campus early so that I could achieve two goals: 1.) finish marking a set of essays and 2.) review my curriculum vitae; Mrs. Chili, who teaches on the campus of a New England college, has been waiting for me to send an updated draft…I guess for about two months now. As noted below and here, the CV is an essential part of the dossier; it reflects the academic activities of a teacher and others. Moreover, it demonstrates the range or narrowness of a person’s professional path. I consider the CV to be an official record of what a person has done; I try to note conferences I have attended, papers I have presented, and lectures and/or seminars I have either presented or attended; it is here that needs to be updated. Although I am still working on a paper (extended essay review) that I hope to get published (got of track and busy with courses), I am not expected to have a long list of articles or book publications….Though, I do expect to have such a list which will be reflected by a few current projects and future projects, too.

It is always great to see your name on another person’s CV (see below other presentations and participation at Rice in Houston); it adds a sense of purpose for what you and that person have done; I always add others to my CV who have participated or played a role in a project I was involved with. Here is a bit of How to Write a Curriculum Vitae? advice:

Step1: Assemble your information: degrees, diplomas, papers published, books and articles authored, patents earned, courses taught, grants and prizes earned.

Step2: Decide on a style. As with résumés, there are formats geared toward every objective.
Step3: Clarify your objectives. Are you looking for a position? Graduate admission? A patent? Are you sending a book query?
Step4: Check out current trends in CVs in books and magazines and on Web sites dedicated to careers and graduate programs. Look at CVs on the Internet, especially within your orbit of interest.
Step5: If you’re a job seeker, list courses taught (latest first), including institutions, departments and courses. Also include special classifications such as department head, graduate advisor, committee member, etc.
Step6: If you’re a would-be contributor, first list articles, books, papers or columns authored; include publication, issue, year and publishing house.
Step7: If you’re a hopeful graduate student, list diplomas, GPA, experience and education first.
Step8: Include thesis topics and areas of interest in detail; this document will be used to gauge experience, applicability and interest.
Step9: Have a literate friend or colleague proofread, edit and generally review your document for clarity and polish.
Step10: Remember to include a bit of personality in your CV through your language and your personal style.
Step11: Update and polish your curriculum vitae every time something changes: a Ph.D. earned, a professorship at MIT, a book accepted for publication, etc.
4 thoughts on “The C.V.

  1. I caught on late to this game. Private schools do take this seriously. It is never too late Jim. Think of the conferences you have attended. How about the in house (or service) meetings required. Activities with students. It starts to add up quickly.

    Carson — It is a record.

  2. Jim, I’m with you. I really hate having to boil down all my energy and passion for teaching to a few bullet points on a piece of paper; it makes me seem like so much less than I am. Alas, this is the way of the world.

    Carson, don’t hurry on my account. I can get to that campus in under 20 minutes any day of the week, and I can visit my mom on the way, to boot. I’ll gladly bring it over whenever you’re ready.

  3. Pingback: Revisiting the CV | The Professor

Leave a Reply

