New Mexico Conference Trip

Above: The plane I flew on today.

I left Houston earlier today for Ruidoso, New Mexico; my flight brought me to Albuquerque where I changed flights to Ruidoso. Because there are no major flights to this remote town, I had to fly via New Mexico Air. If you recall, I am afraid of flying…though I fly a number of times per year. When I schedule a flight, I aim for the biggest planes available. That was not the case today. I still have to fly back to Albuquerque via the tiny plane on Thursday once I am done presenting a special topics history seminar in Ruidoso. And yes, it was a very bumpy flight. I am going to spend another hour reviewing my notes and slides for the meeting tomorrow. Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “New Mexico Conference Trip

  1. You are all over the place Carson. What an academic! We are still on for dinner, right? Do not forget this time. Have a great trip. Impress them with your smarts.

  2. You’re in an awesome place for a lot of cool things to do if you have any free time. My family vacations there a lot because some family members own a house there. There’s a lot of good hiking and sight-seeing to be done.

  3. LUCK, Honey!

    I’m not fond of flying, either, though my neighbor, who’s a plot, does his best to explain to me why I SHOULDN’T fear flying. Have a great time, speak well, and stay in touch!

  4. DUDE! step off the tarmac and go to the mountains. I know you’re infatuated with Urbana, but gimme a break! You are on the edge of God’s Country!! So go grease yourself with salami and find a bear– it will be exciting in a way that an airplane trip pales in comparison. (grin)

  5. I think flying is great after we get off the ground and clear the airport’s airspace. I think that pilot experience and weather are more important than the size of the plane. I think that the overhead wing design looks more stable. Pressurized cabin, too, right? That’s a brute as far as “puddle jumpers” concerned.

  6. WOW Carson, I’m amazed you got on the plane without having to be tranquilized!!
    I agree with the others, you need to get out and about while you’re there and do something really exciting!! At least then the plane ride would be less intimidating?!!??
    Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

