’08 Conferences — Good & Bad News

Today has been a great day here in Ruidoso, New Mexico. The teachers that attended my seminar were awesome; I felt my energy level increase throughout the seminar as participants engaged themselves in our discussion. However, as soon as I returned to my hotel room, I received news that my paper for the NCSS was rejected. I am a little disappointed seeing that I was co-presenting with the history department chair at Baylor University. This is the second year in a row they rejected us; I have received rejections in the past — though not many over the past three years. As of today, I have received one acceptance letter and of course this recent rejection. I will still be the keynote NCSS speaker for the European history breakfast.

Bad News:

Dear Colleague,

The Conference Planning Committee regrets to inform you that we are unable to accept the session proposal “Using the History Seminar to Teach Historical Skills” (proposal # 778 submitted for the 88th annual NCSS Conference. This year we had more than 850 proposals vying for just over 400 program slots. Each proposal was blind reviewed (without revealing authorship) by three reviewers. The Conference Planning Committee did a second review to balance content and audience level in making final selections. The intent of our having multiple reviews and reviewers is to make the selection process as unbiased and fair as possible.

As lead presenter, it is your responsibility to let your co-presenters, if any, know that your workshop proposal has not been accepted. Please let them know as well that the Committee sincerely appreciates the time and effort spent in preparing each submission and hopes that all involved will understand that there are many factors considered in making program decisions.

In the meantime, we hope you still plan to attend the Houston conference. We believe there is no better opportunity to sharpen your teaching craft, update your content knowledge, connect with old friends, and meet new colleagues. Registration materials will be mailed in August, at which time you can register by mail or on-line at http://www.socialstudies.org/conference.

We thank you again for your submission and look forward to seeing you in Texas.

Sincerely,

Good News:

I am looking forward to presenting a paper at the Western History Association meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah come October. I received an e-mail from the Western History Association stating that they have accepted my paper on the shift from the Atlantic Market for the 2008 conference.

Dear Colleague,

Thank you for submitting a paper proposal for the 2008 Western History Association meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah. The program committee received numerous outstanding proposals (61 session proposals and 46 single paper proposals), and we had many difficult decisions to make. In the end, we are delighted to report that your paper was among those chosen for the 2008 program.

Please contact us immediately if you will require A.V. support for your paper. We would also like to remind you that the WHA requires that all conference participants register for the conference.

Sincerely,

Co-Chairs 2007 WHA Program Committee

4 thoughts on “’08 Conferences — Good & Bad News

  1. Yes I agree. This would have been nice. Still, I will attend for the breakfast presentation. I was asked to do this after the fact. I have not finished writing my paper for this particular (breakfast) meeting, but I have a very nice outline on my desk.

    I suspect I am not crafting/articulating my work in a way that fits what they are looking for. I am not sure what that is.

  2. You win some, you lose some.

    It’s probably not a bad thing that your summer months will be slightly less hectic than you planned. I know that’s the way you like it though.

Leave a Reply

