Blogging With a Purpose Award

Regardless of type – – it has been a while since I won any TYPE of award; I have been nominated for a few academic awards over my nine year tenure, but I humbly accept this blogging with a purpose award from Frumteacher; I suspect I blog because of my interest in not only teaching, research, and writing… but I do so because I love the exchange of thought. More than that, I have met some really great people who share my passion for social justice, teaching, and the liberalism that comes with working in schools.

I like what Frumteacher had to say about this award: “The beautiful thing about the Blogging with a purpose award is that it is an honor that needs to be paid forward.”

According to the blogging with a purpose rules, I must:

1. Nominate 5 blogs which haven’t had this award before.
2. Each of the blogs must have a purpose (even if it’s a nebulous one).
3. The nominated blogs must make a link back to this page.
4. The logo from the award must be put on the nominee’s blog and it must link back to this blog.

Here are the five blogs I would hereby like to nominate:

  • Mrs. Chili – Her Teacher’s Education blog is making me a better teacher; I have learned much from her dealings with students, to her innate understanding of the complex relationship that exists in preparing for classes, executing that preparation, college teaching challenges, and her awesome grammar Wednesday posts. Oh, and I hope to have a glass of wine with her on one of my research trips this summer — which continues to keep getting pushed back.
  • Jim Kelley – A very good friend and honest colleague; his blog always make me think.
  • Miss Profe – A fellow teacher of color who too teaches in an independent school. Her blog addresses matters about independent schools, balance, and race that are wise and informative; like Mrs. Chili, I too hope to one day visit this Spanish professor.
  • Saij’s Good Tithings – A diverse blog with great intellectual appeal, Saij writes great pieces in a Bohemian fashion; I am always learning something new.
  • Pax Fellaship – Jeff and I studied together while at Harding; he is now a law school professor in my home city of Montgomery, Alabama; Jeff touches on a number of topics that always inspire me to think more.
5 thoughts on “Blogging With a Purpose Award

  1. Thank you, Eddie! Now my challenge becomes nominating bloggers who’ve not yet received this award…

    I’ve been contemplating, as I often do at the end of semesters, what I’ve learned as a result of spending the last 11 weeks with these students. I’ve got some pretty reflective posts coming up, I think…

Leave a Reply

