Dilemma

I am in a very tight dilemma come October; I am set to present a paper at an American history conference in Salt Lake City, Utah the same week the European history development committee is meeting in another state. Here is what I am hoping will happen: My paper will be placed early on the program so that I can fly into Salt Lake on the 21st, present my work on the 22nd, then fly to the committee meeting on the 23rd — a day before our meetings start. I wish I was superman — just for one week.

Here is the email I sent asking/begging to present my work at an earlier time.

Dear Professor __________ and Professor ____________:

As program committee chairs, I am writing you about the fall WHA meeting in hopes that I might be able to present my work on the 22nd of October due to a major scheduling conflict with the national European history exam committee. Our committee has elected to meet for reserach purposes from October 24th to the 26th; I realize this is an odd request, but it is one of dire need if I am able to present my work at this conference.

I look forward to hearing back from you on this matter.

Edward Carson
Director, Advanced Placement Program
Instructor, Department of History & Social Science
Home Page:
http://carsonduboi.googlepages.com/
E-mail: ecarson@houstonchristianhs.org

Houston Christian High School
2700 W Sam Houston Pkwy N
Houston, Texas 77043
Direct Number 713-580-6059
Fax Number 713-580-6001

5 thoughts on “Dilemma

  1. I promise my off campus academic work relates directly to my teaching. Plus, my students did well on their AP exams. Though I will admit they are very bright. To teach history I think one must be involved in the communities that contribute to what students are learning and what we teachers teach.

  2. Wow! That is a dilemma. You’re in high demand, Edward! I’m afraid of you!

    I agree with you: We as teachers need to be out there, representing, as well as teaching.

Leave a Reply

