Hurricane Ike

I have been missing in action here at the Proletarian of late thanks to hurricane Ike; I am still not living in my home as my friends and colleagues Jim and Staci Brown have allowed us to live with them until power is restored. My departmental colleague and friend Suzan Phenicie allowed us to stay with her the first night, while we spent two nights with Jim’s parents in Sugar Land, Texas. As of today we are still without power. Although I do not fear hurricanes as much as I do a tornado, I felt like I was in a wind tunnel when the category two winds hit my side of Houston. Today was the first day of classes since we canceled school almost a week ago. I am stressed. I have got to make up the missed days. Oh well, I always find a way. I guess I will have to cut a few more war battles out of my course. Trust me, no tears here.

Here are a few pictures of my neighborhood and the mess it caused in my backyard; I was able to spend the past few days getting my hot tub and yard back to normal. However, my back fence must be replaced.

My neighborhood and backyard:

13 thoughts on “Hurricane Ike

  1. Eddie, I’m SO glad you and yours are okay. I only have a few friends in Texas, and you’re one of them. Of course, your state is bigger than my ENTIRE REGION, so I wasn’t sure if you were affected by the storm. I’m sorry that you were, but happy that you’re all safe.

  2. Still no power? That’s amazing that it has been that long. I was around 1960 and Hwy 6 yesterday, and it was hit pretty hard. Hopefully it gets restored soon. I’ll help you rebuild your fence if you help me with mine.

  3. LukeD — Thanks bro. Got your email today as well. I appreciate the thoughts.

    mrschili — we are good. See, that is what happens to a state that believes too much in its own nationalism.

    Phil — I will help you with yours, but I hope to get a new one.

  4. Darling,

    This is rough. It good to hear things are better. Oh, we are looking for an AP Euro. teacher. 4 sections and maybe AP US. They still love you though you rejected us last year.

  5. I’m so glad you are OK:-) Ya know…California has beautiful weather all year round….70-80 degrees, slight winds, no hurricanes, tornadoes or even thunderstorms! Just something to think about…:-)
    Love
    Kel

  6. A hot tub, Eddie? I don’t see you as a hot tub man. But, we are all glad you guys made it out okay. Looks like there is a lot of work to be done in the area. Don’t get too worried about being behind in AP. While HCHS may get out for hurricanes, the rest of us have to deal with snow days… it all evens out in the end.

Leave a Reply

