My Paper and Students

img_3453

Above: I am addressing the concept of trans-racial identity and feminist equality in the Atlantic world. My paper went on to address the international organization of women and their rights in the era of sexual emancipation and the rise of anti-slave societies. After reading portions of my paper that addressed this basic premise below, I went on to show a brief series of slides showcasing the significance of political borders… by land and sea, as well as the role of slavery, religion, and gender as constructs of the Atlantic world.

Title: The Transatlantic and Its Impact on the European History Course: A Look at Geo Politics, Race, Class, and Gender

Here is my basic premise:

The term ocean does not carry much extensive meaning for students taking the European history survey course; better yet, if anything the term has no political, social or economic value unless it is used in reference to mark political warfare or basic geography. However, one might contend that oceans, specifically the Atlantic, had a significant impact on the rise of the modern European state. Because oceans have shaped the development of the modern European history course, I would like to explore the impact such body of waters like the Indian Ocean, Mediterranean Sea, and the Atlantic had on the early colonial stages of geo politics, and how formative states such as France, England, Spain, and the Low Countries struggled to maintain stability amidst colonial expansion and state building. Moreover, it is important that students understand the impact of the Atlantic as a shaper of modernity in both the North American colonies and European states. Furthermore, the dichotomy of the Atlantic world via economic expansion and Enlightenment concepts saw the use of religious constructs as a form and method in justifying Atlantic slavery, racial categorization, and the subjugation of women.

img_34551

Above: Janette and my students who elected to spend their morning with me at NCSS. Thanks Shelby See (under my right arm) for the pictures.

I honestly teach great students; I do not give extra credit, nor do I accept student trying to impress me outside of their academic work in my class. But when students arrived at the Hilton for the conference to hear me talk to history teachers, I was impressed. Below is the letter I sent to my colleagues about these students:

Colleagues:

I wanted to mention that the paper I presented Saturday at NCSS entitled The Transatlantic and Its Impact on the European History Course: A Look at Geo Politics, Race, Class, and Gender went very well. I was a little disappointed in that I had to edit it some to meet the time limitations.

What was most impressive about the breakfast lecture was that I had 8 hchs students who attended this 8 am session on a Saturday morning. I think it is great to model academic life to our students; I always try to showcase my academic work through my teaching, as well as the papers I write and present and submit for publication. This is true of my blog, too. For students to sit in a room with other teachers and historians is good. I know this is part of what leadership is inculcating in the curriculum. My students even participated some in the questions asked. Moreover, one student noted much of what I wrote about and presented related to what I bring to my courses. I told him we all do that. I thought I would share this with you. We have students who seek ideas and who are generally interested in the work we do as teachers.

img_3444

Above: Discussing the impact of the 30 Years’ War on Eastern Europe

17 thoughts on “My Paper and Students

  1. Edward

    I wanted to say I really enjoyed your paper this weekend. You are very articulate and well spoken. Your range of knowledge is most impressive. Your students are very lucky to have you. I emailed you about your slides and a few other things that will remain between us. I hope you will consider what I am asking of you. Keep up the great work and I hope to hear from you very soon.

  2. Carson,

    I am glad your presentation went well. I briefly toyed with the idea of coming, but I figured that my parents did not have any interest in driving me downtown at 8am. After reading your basic premise, I realize that this could have been very beneficial for me, as I am doing research on Global Trade & Economics in the Post-classical Era for Metty’s class. Oh well – in one more month, I will no longer have to be chauffeured by my parents!

  3. Ahhhhh………I’m even more mad now that I couldn’t make it than I was yesterday. It appears that it was so interesting.

  4. This sort of thing THRILLS me. Not only the geeky academic paper-delivery (I know it’s a glass of water in your hand, but my first thought upon seeing the picture was “WOW! What kind of conference is this where you get to do your presentation while drinking WINE?!), but also that the kids were there.

    Something along those lines happened to me a few weeks ago. I took my daughters to a presentation at L.U. given by an author of a book about wildlife. As I was sitting there with my girls, three of my students walked in and took seats behind us. When I asked them about their presence there, they told me that they were planning on doing their “cultural event” paper, due in my class by the end of the semester, on this presentation. It’s not EXACTLY the same – I DID sort of assign them the outing, but it was neat for me that they chose something that I brought my kids to.

    Okay – so it’s not the same at all, is it…? Never mind…

  5. mrschili:

    No, I think it is the same. I love it when students see a purpose in ideas and knowledge beyond getting a grade or a job one day. I did not even think about the glass of water that looks like wine. To me this is something I will recall for a while. I will remember them regardless. Kind of like when you present your first conference paper as an undergrad or grad student.

  6. Ha! That actually does look like wine. I think this is the first time I have ever seen Carson drink anything besides coffee.

  7. Or Kool-ade…… (Inside joke; I think I spelled it right) lol. I still can’t believe you missed a good ol’ Lutheran Oktoberfest. Oh well, there’s always next year. You need to know the lingo in advance though. O’zapft is! Ein Prosit, Ein Prosit, der gemiitlichkeit!Eins, zwei, Drei g’suffa!

  8. Geez, I sound like a drunk there….lol. Don’t worry, they serve non-alcoholic beer for the laddies who want to join in the festivities. I hear it is pretty popular with GW.

  9. Carson – I want to open a fair-trade coffee shop on this side of town. That isn’t Starbucks. I’m sick of supporting the delinquency of corporate America.

  10. I have missed out on this blog it seems 🙂 but rereading this was quite nice because I had a wonderful time at the presentation. It made me miss your class even more. Can I come in sometime during A1 or B2 because really, I have nothing to do in those classes. If you have another presentation please do tell me, I felt intellectually cool sitting there and listening to your lecture. It was very well done, if I haven’t told you already.

Leave a Reply

