Teaching Great Students #4

Only in a Carson run course can this happen: I show up to class two minutes late to discover my advanced students on the table praying in protest that I do not hand them an assignment. Again, I do have a great students. If this is the extent of the crap I get from them, I will take it. I am big on student loyalty — to me and my course; if I get this, I can be pretty democratic in my authoritative approach. Here are my other post under the category of great students.

p1000997

Above: Section A4 of Advanced Placement United States History (H/T: Jamie Ferguson)

Although my students are great, I am at times concerned about their interpretation of southern culture vis-a’-vis black slavery. On this day, students were asked to construct a map with symbols examining the commercial revolution and regional economies as they relate to the historical modalities circa 1820 – 1848; well in the picture below, students contend that my black-urban up bringing forced me to greatly misinterpret their picture below. I disagreed with them; I see a depiction of urban youth, bling bling, hip hoppness, and a garden tool used in many urban rap lyrics. Did I get this wrong? I am sure I am a better academic than this. It was fun to laugh at seeing that the students “supposedly” did not see it this way. Sure! I think they did. Not cool!

p1000998

H/T: Jamie Ferguson for the picture above.

8 thoughts on “Teaching Great Students #4

  1. I don’t know who drew that and called it a hoe, but they should perhaps check into what gardening implements actually look like. That’s definitely a rake. Also, I’m fairly certain you can handle it. My AP Euro class prepared you for just about anything.

  2. I don’t see how it “might be offensive” – it clearly is offensive. Not cute or something to have a good laugh over. I went to an elite private school. We had some who would have thought themselves incredibly cool and smart (smarter than the teacher) by sneaking such an image into an otherwise appropriate depiction and having an ingenious, and appropriate, explanation for it. Laughing all the way to lunch if they got away with it. I hope your students are nothing like some in my school were. Overly privileged and self-important.

Leave a Reply

