A Christian Democrat by Dillon Sorensen

Dillon Sorensen is a 10th grader and frequent contributer to The Proletarian; feel free to leave a comment for him regarding the post. Here is a previous post by Mr. Sorensen.

I attend a private Christian high school in Houston – creatively named Houston Christian High School. At HCHS, most of the students are white, wealthy, and conservative. The student parking lot is filled with brand new F-150s, Tahoes, and Mustangs. Every morning at 8:30am, class starts, and sets of iron gates secure the school’s perimeter a half hour later. The students walk down the halls in their Polo sweaters and Sperry’s, complaining about how much they hate private school, on their way to their next class. Most HCHS students fail to realize that one of Houston’s poorest communities, primarily made up of Asian and Hispanic immigrants is less than a mile away.

Every year, Houston Christian students are required to take two semesters of Bible class. Old Testament, New Testament, and Apologetics – we study it all. It was about a month ago, in the midst of the election season, that a fellow student in my second period Bible asked, “how can you be a Christian and a Democrat?” She proceeded to say that “Democrats support abortion and gay marriage, and Christians shouldn’t.”

I consider myself to be a fairly open-minded person. Even though I am quite Liberal, I am more than willing to listen to Conservatives. I read progressive blogs and newspapers; yet, I also check out the National Review and occasionally watch Fox News. However, I am not open to the assertion that a Democrat can’t be a Christian.

Ironically, I used to be rather Conservative. In eighth grade, my history teacher was a football coaching, concealed handgun carrying, Michael Savage listening Republican from Mississippi. He talked about how he was a devout Catholic, and couldn’t stand the thought of “the gays” getting married, and hated to see our babies being killed. He said that the wealthy shouldn’t have to give their money away to the lazy poor people who don’t want to work (read: black people). My knowledge of politics was quite limited, but everything he was saying sounded pretty reasonable to me. So, I found myself repeating his political views to my friends and family. It was quite nice actually, because being in Texas, everyone agreed with me and told me how smart I was. I too thought that it was impossible to be a Christian and a Democrat.

For the past two summers, I have been fortunate enough to serve on the Program Team at a large youth conference in Germany. Last summer, during setup week, I was taking some time to pray and familiarize myself with the year’s curriculum. The theme was Blindsight, and we primarily focused on Paul and his letters to the Corinthians. So, as I was reading my Bible, I came across 2 Corinthians 8:13-15:

“Our desire is not that others might be relieved while you are hard pressed, but that there might be equality. At the present time your plenty will supply what they need, so that in turn their plenty will supply what you need. Then there will be equality, as it is written: “He who gathered much did not have too much, and he who gathered little did not have too little.”

You see, I have always been a Christian. For the past few years, my family has attended church every Sunday morning. I have attended Christian private schools since the fourth grade. I even participated in a confirmation class in the eighth grade. But I didn’t have a relationship with Jesus Christ – until last summer.

As I continued to worship, pray, and read, I learned a lot about Jesus. I learned that Jesus took care of the poor, the elderly, and the orphaned. I learned that Jesus valued equality. I learned that Jesus wasn’t a proponent of war. I learned that Jesus would never sit back and watch genocide happen all over the World. I learned that every life is sacred in the eyes of Jesus. I learned that Jesus would want the students of Houston Christian High School to help the impoverished Houstonians living and working outside of its iron gates.

If Jesus were living in the United States today, would he be a Democrat? I doubt it. Would he be a Republican? Probably not. In fact, I think his voter registration card would say “Independent.”

Nonetheless, Jesus would understand that it is possible to be a Christian and a Democrat.

14 thoughts on “A Christian Democrat by Dillon Sorensen

  1. Thanks for posting this Carson.

    Originally written for Palmetto Perspectives (palmettoperspectives.wordpress.com). Great blog by a good friend, I highly recommend it.

  2. Great job, Dillon. Your eloquence never ceases to amaze me. You just seem to have a way with words. I’d never doubt or question your religious devotion to Christ.

    I’d like to ask you a question: I’m a conservative and a Christian, and I do not support a progressive income tax. Does that make me a bad Christian because I choose to help the poor through charitable donations rather than through taxes and the government? I’m not asking this to put pressure on you, but I just want to make the point that paying more taxes is not the only way to help the poor and impoverished. I still help the less fortunate in every way I can; I just choose to do it through different means.

  3. My fellow Proletariat (I think that is the plural form of Proletarian).

    I recently started up a blog of my own at thegrayghost.wordpress.com. Whoever can guess what the title is referencing WITHOUT looking at the blog gets a prize.

    Sorry for the promo. Carry on with the intellectual discussion…

  4. The only one that I can think of was the Gray Ghost from the old Batman cartoons back when I was like 6 or 7. Man he was the coolest badguy ever. Do I go and check now or what?

  5. After pondering the title, I came to the conclusion that it must be from the book “To Kill a Mockingbird” that we read in 8th grade and I was pleasantly surprised to see that my answer was correct after looking at you new blog Dillon.

    On a serious note, good article. You brought back so many fun memories of that history teacher…

  6. wow….what an incredible gift you have at being able to process your thoughts and beliefs. I can’t wait to read your college essays! Merry Christmas Dillonl

  7. Dillon, In your thoughts I see a mind with soul and spirit and intelligence at work. I hope to get you in my English class! A “one size fits all” mentality has never been part of my understanding of Christian faith, and you have figured that out and expressed it beautifully! Of course there are Christian Democrats! Thanks for a great read!

  8. Well written, Dillon, and I agree with you whole-heartedly! It’s amazing how our perspective on everything changes when we see Jesus for who He is and try to follow only Him and not others’ representations of Him. He is continually changing my perspectives on many things and I am grateful that you’ve been experiencing the same thing! Many blessings to you from the Lord!

  9. *clap clap clap* Another great article Dillon. It also bugs me hearing all the kids whining about what they’ve got when they have everything they could ever need and plenty more. I for one wouldn’t want to go anywhere else for high school. And I agree with Jesus being Independant. (that is if he hadn’t already started his own party full of formerly corrupt politicians lol) Great Job again man.

Leave a Reply

