Academic Memberships

Above: Copy of the American Historical Review

One of the benefits that come with academic organizational memberships are plentiful:

  1. You receive quarterly academic journals that contain a host of articles, book reviews, and field updates. At times I feel guilty for bypassing the articles and reading the reviews; it is impossible to read every book published. And seeing that on some university campuses people must publish a book to earn tenure, and another to be promoted — there is a lot of bad stuff out there. Thus, I read what I can but I never shy from book reviews; next time you are on campus, I must show you the sad fate of making annotations in the review of books section, which is half of the American Historical Review journal published by the American Historical Association.
  2. Conference discounts and updated emails on the field are great.
  3. A feeling of belonging to something much larger than my campus. This is very important to me seeing that teaching can be the most isolated field on the planet. I have worked to avoid this.
  4. The excitement of going to your campus box and seeing the most recent copy of a journal there. I get four: American Historical Review, Journal of American History, The History Teacher, and Perspectives. I have yet to renew my subscription to Foreign Affairs — one I need to read that addresses more recent events. I also receive a copy of Independent School and used to get the Chronicle of Higher Education.
5 thoughts on “Academic Memberships

  1. Psh…why subscribe to “The New Yorker” when you can get “American Historical Review.”

    Where do you Historians tend to gather for conferences? I am picturing a colonial mansion in New England, but I am pretty sure I am wrong.

  2. I really enjoy being a student member of the MLA. Sharply discounted membership, free journals, and mailings to Professor Thomas. Nothing makes my day like being given a title I have no right to own.

  3. Posh hotels. Dine at fine places. Eat steak and have a glass of wine. Oh, we wear bow ties and jackets. A few of us might even have a cigar. It is a nice life to leave home for. We are meeting in New York City this year. It should be fun. We had a great time talking at the meeting in D.C. last year, right Edward? Funny, but I think the AHA’s office used to be held in the place you describe.

Leave a Reply

