Tracking Hate Groups

The Southern Poverty Law Center, located just down the road from my house in downtown Montgomery, Alabama, seeks to address the problem of race and racism in America by tracking and monitoring hate groups. Their mission is of the up most importance when it comes to protecting the liberties of all Americans — regardless of color. Due to earlier bombings and threats against them by hate groups, their center is heavily watched by security guards and security cameras. Below is a map depicting the number of active hate groups being monitored by the center to date. Click here to read about and track the active hate groups in your region/state.

Above: Number of Active Hate Groups in America
You can follow their work via their blog: Hatewatch: Keeping an Eye on the Radical Right

9 thoughts on “Tracking Hate Groups

  1. I find it interesting that the North-Eastern United States has more hate groups than the traditional Midwestern “Dixiecrat” country.

  2. I do not know if you were in my class when we discussed sundown towns, but they too seem to be greater in areas beyond the traditional south. I was surprised at how many Arkansas has seeing that there are only 2.6 million people in the state.

  3. It makes sense to me. In the South, we were overt about our hatred. We made formal laws and did obvious things to express it. It the North, they hid behind tolerance; therefore there were no formal laws and so there had to be secret (or not so secret) hate groups formed.

  4. I haven’t fully crunched the numbers, but it seems that per capita, the number of hate groups is about the same in each region. Sure PA has more hate groups than Arkansas, but it has almost 4.5x as many residents and many of them reside in Pensyltucky, not the more progressive Philly and Pittsburgh.

    If we’re just going by raw numbers, then California is the most hateful state in the union. If we look deeper, though, CA has 1.5 the population of Texas and only about 25% more hate groups. If anything, this chart is indicative of the fact that more hate groups per capita in the stereotypically racist south.

    Of course, this doesn’t absolve we northerners just because there are fewer racists out of 100 here. Racism is a real problem across the country and I am thankful that their are organizations that keep an eye on hate groups.

    I do, however, wish they would divorce issues of hate/racism with issues of politics. There are racist and hate-filled people of all political persuasions and I don’t believe that depicting one group as having the corner on racism is a healthful way to eradicate one of the biggest and most daunting problems in out country.

  5. …but there are, for example, 66 hate groups in Texas and 20 in Arkansas. That seems high since the Houston area alone doubles the entire state population of Arkansas. So, in essence, that is like the city of Houston alone having a total of 40 such groups.

  6. I like IanTrevor’s comment; we really DO need to be careful about exactly WHO we’re talking about when we talk about hatred and racism.

    I’m being particularly careful about this as I bring my classes into conversations about social responsibility and the Holocaust. Until now, we’ve been focusing on the self and identity-making. Now, though, we’re starting to branch out into how those selves fit into the larger society, and we’re starting to investigate what the individual’s responsibility is to the larger society. When we talk about the Holocaust, I have to make sure that the students make a very clear distinction between “the Germans” and “the Nazi party.” While there certainly were Germans who perpetrated the kinds of conditions that allowed the Holocaust to happen, we need to remember that lumping people together into groups (where they may or may not belong) doesn’t serve our understanding of what really happened.

    While I’m not overly familiar with the 3 hate groups listed in my state (but rest assured, I’m heading to the SPLC to find out about them!), I not surprised to see hate groups listed here. I remember, when I was in high school, that someone was trying to open a branch of the KKK in my town. Ignorance and hatred are everywhere; it’s dangerous to think that it can’t happen here…

  7. Oh! I take it back! I DID know about one of them. There’s a radical Catholic group who are pretty active Holocaust deniers in the town near where, perhaps not coincidentally, the center where I studied for my Holocaust fellowship is located. I’m SURE I wrote a story about that on one of my blogs a year or so ago, but I can’t for the life of me find it right now….

  8. The job they’re doing is admirable!
    It’s hard to believe that in this day and age there is still hate for those that are different!! Something has gone wrong somewhere … is it education? is it rampant atheism?
    What’s happened to the golden rule ‘Do unto others as you would have them do unto you’?
    In my country, Italy, the longstanding hate of northeners against southerners and viceversa has now turned into hate of all immigrants 😦

Leave a Reply

