Down with the Wall 20 Years later by Guest Author

This post was written by a dear friend and great colleague from Arkansas. She teaches at a well-respected school and has become a star in her field of late. She teaches courses in AP European and World History, and has offered her expertise on topics related to the teaching of history at national conferences. We are in conversations about writing a paper on point of view and the teaching of world history for future conferences.  In reading this post, note her unique experience in Eastern Europe at a time in which the question of stability was a question mark. When Ronald Reagan famously challenged Mikhail Gorbachev, in June 1987 at Berlin, to “tear this wall down”, just about nobody could have guessed that the wall that separated two armies, two cultures and, more tragically, one people would indeed be brought down very soon, on 9 November 1989.


Tomorrow, the 20th anniversary of the fall[ing] of the Berlin Wall will be celebrated.  It is amazing how quickly our world has shifted from fighting the communists to now fighting the terrorists.  In 1989, I was 14 years old, and quite oblivious to the major changes occurring in the world around me.  However, it would become much more real to me.  In the summer of 1992, I was asked to go on a mission trip to the newly transformed Russia.  We were going to spread the Good News to the “godless” people of the newly freed Russia.  Our group consisted of four adults and eight other students.  I spent countless hours memorizing the verses we were asked to learn so we could share the gospel effectively.  It sounded like a great plan and I was incredibly excited to see what changes God could make in the hearts and lives of these people.

The morning our plane was to leave, the newspaper presses were shut down in Moscow.  Panicked, we secured a row-boat and a fisherman in Helsinki that agreed to help us get out if the borders were to be closed while on our trip.  So, armed with verses and $200.00 cash for the boatman in Helsinki, we were off.  We arrived in St. Petersburg, though the signs and most maps still referred to it as Leningrad.  As our plan descended,   I quickly noticed the difference communism makes on a country.  Large pieces of planes and debris were scattered along the run way, and soldiers were strategically placed around the runway.  As we deplaned, we were required to walk through a maze of 10-12 feet high concrete walls- so as to confuse- I was told.  We emerged into a world that looked like time forgot.  Modernization that occurred after 1950 seemed to be nonexistent.  We were greeted by our Russian guide, and I was quickly told two things:  quit smiling and don’t look people in the eyes.  I was informed, “if you want to look Russian, you should behave as though you have the weight of the world on your shoulders”.

Our job was to meet up with other young students our age, and share the gospel.  I learned very quickly that this was going to be more difficult that any of us had realized.  Everyone could understand the concept of hell—they had lived that.  Yet, few could grasp the concept of heaven.  How can one accept and love God without being able to understand his rewards?  Conversion is not as was not as easy as I thought.

As so often happens, it was the people who changed me- not me that changed the people.  The last two nights that we were in St. Petersburg were spent in the homes of the friends we had made.  We were traveling on the subway with all of our gear.  I happened to look up to see a young girl holding a small bouquet of flowers.  I saw her, and smiled at her.  She immediately looked away, and I found myself embarrassed for breaking one of the rules I was told from the beginning.  In an attempt to make amends, I offered the little girl some gum.  She beamed and then took her mother’s entire bouquet to give to me.  We all laughed.  Quickly I remembered I had small gifts in my bag, nothing of any real value- crayons and coloring books, small toys, etc.  I offered those to the young girl.  Her mother wept.  I was later told the value of those small gifts were immeasurable in their current economy.  We then dumped out our bags, and began passing out all we had with us.  Jeans, tampons, house slippers.  Things that were so commonplace to us were virtually impossible to get for many.

I returned home from my trip virtually empty-handed.  We all did.  We went on a journey to try to change the lives of others, but yet, it was we who were changed.  I learned that the communists that I met were people with big hearts with huge needs.  I also learned that something as important as salvation cannot be quickly shared after merely learning a few verses.  Often it takes much more- an understanding of people’s lives- their past and their present condition.  These life lessons could not have been replicated in any classroom or experienced through reading a book.  They came as a result of seeing the world as it changed.  What an amazing gift to learn these things at the tender age of 17.

So, on this anniversary of the “fall of communism”, I must take pause.  It is important to evaluate where we were as a society.  Where are we now?  I hope we might be able to say that twenty years later, if I could go back to those who were newly freed, their ideas of hope have been fulfilled.  Maybe now, they can understand heaven.

5 thoughts on “Down with the Wall 20 Years later by Guest Author

  1. Not fair Carson. Who wrote this? She is right about life lessons in that I was taught to distrust the Russians and to view all of them as evil doers of communism. I only learned to think and know better after I escaped my imprisoned home. Unlike the author’s real life experiences, I was like most in that I only knew what was taught in high school.

  2. I’ll be remembering Kristallnacht tomorrow; 71 years since the riots that touched off the unspeakable violence against humanity that the Nazis managed to perpetrate, essentially unchecked, for nearly a decade.

    I wonder if it’s some sort of Cosmic irony that the Berlin Wall came down on the same day, 50 years later, as those terrible riots….

  3. And think how many people will never fully know what that day and time meant. I was 22 and could not remove myself from the TV.

  4. I watched with astonishment as the wall came down. Like the author of the post, a missions trip or rather two missions trips overseas changed my life. It was the summers of 1970 and 1971. Our group from Harding knocked on doors passing out literature and singing church music in parks in Holland, West Germany (as it was called then), and Austria. One day we rode a boat down the Danube to Bratislava. I noted the border guards with their weapons from their lookouts as we passed into Czechoslavakia. It had only been two years since the Prague spring. The Russians ended Dubchek’s “Communism with a Human Face” experiment. The second summer was spent in Augsburg, north of Munich. I talked with people about the war and Hitler. I recall rock music on television calling for reunification of the two Germanys. I never dreamed that it would end so quickly and peacefully. It had seemed like an eternal struggle. I even recalled when the wall was built, being about 10 years old at the time and watching a movie about it. Among the lessons I learned those summers was the role of one’s time, place, nationality and family in forming one’s views on religion and politics. It fed my curiosity and led to further study, a lifetime study really, of how and why we are like we are. I realized also that I did not have the personality style to be a minister and it validated my journey along the path of science and technology. ….. The fall of the wall and the reunification was a wonderful thing to watch and like the poster above, I was glued to the TV as well. …. After a great many years, I began returning to Europe on occasion for professional reasons, attending symposia, meetings and giving talks. In 2006 I had a conference in Berlin. Visiting Checkpoint Charlie, having my picture taken in front of the Wall, visiting the Pergamon Museum, visiting the Gedachtniss Kirche (Church of Remembrance) will always be one of my fondest memories. (See my blog posts circa May and June 2006.)

  5. While there is some correlation here between the greatness of the wall coming down, factors missing such as religion cannot explain why Orthodox Bulgaria has a much higher Freedom House score than Orthodox Russia, or why Muslim Albania has a much higher score than Muslim Turkmenistan. Similarly, while war undoubtedly undermines democratization, we do not find Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Serbia, Russia, and Tajikistan–the five post-communist countries most affected by war in the 1990s–anchoring the left-hand side of chart. This in many ways is another topic, but it is one that must be discussed, The wall being removed has created a vacuum of darkness still unaddressed.

Leave a Reply

