The Run to Remember Marathon

test image
test image
Janette ran and completed her 2nd half marathon.
test image
I am following my pace leader to a good finish.
test image
Runners in front of part of the memorial.
test image
By mile 15 we ran by an open lake with heavy head winds.
test image
The crowed support was amazing; one of the best.
test image
It was still dark when the race started at 6:30 A.M.
The Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon was an amazing race. I was nervous the night before, thus only got 3 hours of sleep. The course was easier than my last marathon 5 weeks ago. There were fewer “hills.” But, when you live in Houston and only train on flat terrain, running up a drive way can be a hilly challenge. I will admit that I go into most races with one thing on my mind, placing high in my division and setting a new personal record; I always aim to win my division at 5k races, and place atop my division at half and/or full marathons.  However, by time I got to mile 10, it occurred to me that this race was truly a different kind of race. It was an emotional one. As we lined up at the start, the announcer called for 168 minutes of silence, in order for each runner and spectator to remember all of those that died from the bombing. While completing this 26.2 mile race, I saw a number of markers remembering various people who died. Some runners wore the names of individuals on their bib numbers, as well as their backs.
Above: Pictures of the memorial
The event witnessed a total of 23,000 runners who participated in the 5k, marathon relay, half marathon, and full marathon. I had two concerns going into this race: 1.) Would I be able to maintain enough energy to make a strong push after mile 21? 2.) Could I avoid a bathroom stop? I did okay with point 1, however, failed at point two. But, it was not as bad as Little Rock, in which I had to make a bathroom stop at mile 15, just before the heavy hills. At OKC, I did so at mile 7 — early enough for me to recover, but again right before the hills. I enjoyed running with the 3hr 30 min pace team; I felt a bit like a celebrity. We were the fastest pace group there. When we passed a crowed, you could hear people talking about our pace and the time we sought.
test image
At the start of the race, the temperature was 48 degrees; it easily got up into the mid 70s, which was not the biggest challenge. The winds were unreal; I found myself doing a lot of drafting, primarily by bunching in behind my pace leader and others in the pace group. I did try something new for this race; I ate dinner and a snack late Saturday night, in hopes of processing it by time I lined up early Sunday morning. Thus, I did not eat breakfast before the race. With one exception, I think this worked very well. I am convinced that I am two marathons away from a 3hr 15 minute Boston Q time; I intend on running the Memphis marathon in December as my “real” attempt. The course is fast. And, it will qualify me for two Boston marathons. I am not sure which marathon will be first come fall, but I do hope to get one in before Memphis. I will follow Memphis up with Houston’s marathon.
—–
In the end, I categorically placed in the top 10% of marathoners. Here are the numbers:
Number of Finishers: 2,629
Number of Females: 1,o57
Number of Males: 1,572
My overall place: 159 out of 2,629
Division place: 19 out of 141
My gender place: 142 out of 1,572
Finishing Time: 3hr 32 minutes 42 secs
—-

Below is a pretty cool tracker, I must admit; I have never seen this before. After my last race, the chip timing system tracked me. This allows myself and others to compare my performance to that of all other runners at the OKC marathon. I  am hoping my next two races do the same. I have already contacted my friend Chris Bell about training with me for the  Kansas City Marathon in October. Chris and I have done some mountain climbs  and runs. Chris suggested that we start meeting in Austin to conduct our 20 mile runs there due to the hills.  This is smart because Kansas City  is hilly. After Kansas City, I will do the Memphis marathon to close out the year. Honestly, I would love to do more before Memphis but cannot work them into my schedule.

NAME: Edward Carson
EVENT: Full Marathon
DATE: April 25, 2010
BIB/DIV: 1119 / M 35-39
TIME: 3h:32m:42s (net)
Result in Entire Field – 159th place
2328 finishers behind. About 6% of finishers ahead.
Result in Gender (Male) – 142nd place
1382 finishers behind. About 9% of finishers ahead.
Result in Division (M 35-39) – 19th place

121 finishers behind. About 13% of finishers ahead

LEGEND

The location of the figure on the line shows your position in the finish order of the race. The closer the figure is to the right, the closer you were to the winner.

Overall Gender Div

FACTS ABOUT CARSON’S RACE:

Who’s who

Of the 2487 who finished, 39% were female and 61% were male.

Opposite Sex

For the record, you were ahead of about 98% of female finishers.

4 thoughts on “The Run to Remember Marathon

  1. I came across your blog while searching for Houston runners. This is an event I have wanted to run but have yet to commit to. You had a great race. I look forward to following your blog and runs. I am not in your league, but I do aspire to get better.

  2. First and foremost, great times – I’m a bit jealous. Second, I was going through my old yearbook from 2007 (you know, when my mom worked at the school) and I saw the belated afro. I think it’s time to start rocking it again – if for no other reason than to gain a bit of notoriety at your next run. It might get a bit hot under there, but hey “no pain, no game.”

Leave a Reply

