Required Readings 2010 – 2011

Mucho mucho June. I am sure my Spanish is incorrect here, but it is fun to pretend from time to time; I have posted very little due to a hectic June filled with a number of professional venues; I hope to draft far more post come July, though this month is equally busy with me traveling a great deal to various conferences.

With that in mind, you know the start of the academic year is close when one (me) has drafted a required reading page on the ole’ home page here. Have you read any of these books?

3 thoughts on “Required Readings 2010 – 2011

  1. I’m looking forward to more posts here, Carson.

    I’ve heard of several of your books, but I’ve not read any other than the two works of literature you’ve got on there. I spent an entire semester as an undergrad reading (and rereading) Conrad’s Heart of Darkness. It was quite an experience to spend an entire semester with ONE text, and even though I was dumbfounded when I learned that we only needed ONE book for the WHOLE semester (and that I was expected to read the thing no fewer than three times in 14 weeks) the act of revisiting the text and looking at it through different critical lenses was, if you’ll pardon the cliche, eye-opening. Of course, I was looking at it in a Lit. Crit. class; we didn’t cover much of the history…

  2. Chili:

    I came to love HOD after about my 3rd read; it spoke to my soul about the man and his desire for power, wealth, and greed. It is a work about capitalism than anything else.

  3. I can’t wait to read more about your popular culture class. I haven’t read any of the books from that list. I’ll be ordering them this weekend and can’t wait to read them.

Leave a Reply

