Professor Carson, not Professor Wikipedia

I have students that live and die by what Wikipedia says. I will say that I too read Wikipedia for a hint of knowledge; however, it is not the place I derive much of my scholarship for authoring that conference paper or guiding that class discussion. I have taught my students to challenge me at all times on information I deliver that sounds biased or just incorrect. Thus, I get a great laugh when at times I see students reaching for their laptops to fact check me. Of course, they always go directly to Wikipedia. This year I have the king of Wikipedia in two of my courses: Chris Tutunjian; Chris is in both my AP European History course and my AP US Government & Politics course; I also had him last year in AP US History. He has a big reputation for not only being frighteningly smart, but for keeping Wikipedia close. Seeing that he will be the valedictorian this year, I cannot complain too much. His buddy, Parker Malone, is not too far from hitting that button on the Internet that launches this encyclopedia source.

As for me, I just try to get my facts right. I do a pretty good job here; I mean, I must maintain my credibility with a room full of frighteningly smart students. My AP European History class is made up of students I had in AP US History last year. All of them not only passed the AP US History exam, but I believe most of them got a 5…the highest score one can earn. And if I can get that Lexi Peterson girl in that course come next week — the overall intellect will grow.

I do not fear being replaced by Wikipedia anytime soon. However, if my classes starts to resemble Professor Wikipedia anytime soon, the end could be near. Check this video clip out here.

Above: Professor Wikipedia

4 thoughts on “Professor Carson, not Professor Wikipedia

  1. Heh.

    One of my colleagues told his college kids that they were, on NO uncertain terms, to consult Wikipedia for the information on their research papers. My friend taught a pretty specific discipline, and immediately after giving his “thou shalt not” speech, he went to his office and seeded a few choice articles with bogus (but very scholarly-sounding) material.

    Guess what ended up in his students’ papers?

    They all ended up failing the papers outright and learning a very important lesson about using wikis; DOUBLE CHECK everything you see there with more credible sources before you even THINK about using the information.

  2. duly noted πŸ™‚

    hey sir edward, i just got home from an IEW writing class/seminar/teacher training that you would’ve gotten a total kick out of!!!!!!!

    have you seen the writing structure put forth by andrew pudewa???? i’m using the IEW medieval history one this year.

    i’m i love…… πŸ™‚

  3. Wikipedia is a great resource for fluffy stuff. Or even for help getting started on real things. The list of links at the bottom of each wiki entry often links to reputable sources, however, wikipedia itself should never be used as a bibliographic source. That’s asinine.

    But if you want to look up facts about Keanu Reeves, it’s a great place to go. I mean, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

