Old Post on Taking my Courses

I got an email a couple of years ago from a student who heard great things about my courses and wanted to take my AP US History course. She stated she is a bit nervous about it, though she contends that she would really like to try the Carson experience. So, I got to thinking about the “whole” Carson experience and re-pulled this post. After reading years of old letters, notes, e-mails, and teaching evaluations from various HCHS and CAC students, I noticed a pattern. Below are the 12 most commented things from students through my first 10 years of teaching. I decided to omit the wonderful things such as student autonomy, great class topics, teaching, annual cookouts, coffee, etc.,

Top 12

Dear student, according to students you get to…

12. listen to the same bad jokes all year — all four of them.
11. hear about his Atlantic Market research and work on race and independent schools.
10. hear Carson say “moreover, furthermore, case in point, and thus” throughout a class discussion.
9. ask Carson how Karl Marx fits into every equation, discussion, and assignment.
8. learn about Carson’s children: Sam and Denver (his cats).
7. follow all of his arrows from alphabet A to alphabet B.
6. take an exam or a quiz in which he scored a 100% on; Carson of course wrote the thing.
5. use terms such as nation-state, actor or actors, polity, and idiot frequently.
4. make up words such as commonsensical and historiography (which is a word).
3. study the French Revolution six months before (and after)it is scheduled to be taught.
2. hear him say, “according to Carson” or “give your soul to Carson”
1. ask him about his cool ties.

Funny, and I am not sure how to take this email I got from a student who has made it clear that my class scares him to death, but he wrote this after I served as a guest lecturer in an Economics course a week ago. My classes are not that difficult, you just have to open the book and read. I do like it when a student takes the time to send an email such as this.

I just wanted to personally thank you for coming and talking with our class. I don’t necessarily agree with all of your viewpoints, but it was very interesting to hear everything you had to say. I know I used to always tell you that I take summer school so I don’t have to have you as a teacher, but being able to hear you lecture our class was very awesome. Thank you so much for taking time to do that. I appreciate what you do here at this school Mr. Carson, and I hope you realize how much people appreciate you even if they don’t always show it. You are a bit of a giant here. People are scared of your tough courses and amazing mind. You are different. That is what is so great about you, besides the fact that you are smart.

In Christian love,

5 thoughts on “Old Post on Taking my Courses

  1. 5. use terms such as nation-state, actor or actors, polity, and idiot frequently.

    Now I’m wondering what words *I* use all the time. I know for sure that “Right?!” (said as an expression of agreement, as in “I’m frustrated that we’re out of printer paper two days into the school year.” “RIGHT?!”) and “really?” said with a kind of sarcastic incredulity (and the proper bunched eyebrows; I’m all about full expression…)

  2. hahahahahahahahahahahahaaha- that makes me laugh!!!! 😀

    i think maybe i’m afraid to take your class too 😉 but maybe i should have you guest lecture for me someday…. yeah, gotta do that once the average age of my class gets into double digits!

    hug your “kids” for me (and wifey too!)

  3. Heh, you have to admit, a teacher that can bring about such strong feelings in one class has got to be doing something right. I still appreciate everything you did (heck, I got a B in Europe since the Renaissance, and I didn’t have to read or study at all!), and am sure it’s more great work you do now

Leave a Reply

