Big Running Weekend

I have 35 days until my next race; I am feeling great as I near 70 miles of running this week. I will spend this weekend in Austin, Texas doing some long hill training runs; I am thinking 18 miles of hills. On another note, my classes are off to a great start; I am convinced I have the strongest AP European History class ever. That is saying a lot, seeing that I have taught some amazing students. My other classes are doing well, too. The new American Studies course has been fun. I am not sure my students are happy about the book review that is due next week, but they will survive and do well.

Wish me well in Austin. Above is a picture of me at mile 12 of a 14.2 mile race. To this day, this is one of my best races. I took 3rd place in the under 39 division. Interestingly, I have gotten better with age, now that I am in my mid 30s. Before a number of injuries sidelined me and brought about some unwanted weight, I was a crazy man. I would put in 100 mile weeks with no rest days. In the mornings, I would run 10 miles with my best runners on the cross-country team I coached at CAC (my last school); I would turn around and do 10 more on my own in the afternoon. I am far smarter than that today. However, I do still conduct what I call double run days.

7 thoughts on “Big Running Weekend

  1. Thanks!!! Ran into a bit of an injury bug; I made it about 3 miles before calling it the day. I think I am done for what I hope is just a few days. I needed this run. I have been hit by this bug more of late. Years ago it plagued me into depression (not really) and weight gain (really). I did the smart thing and did not finish.

  2. Eddie, I guess it’s been too long since I checked in on you. You don’t look at all the same as the last time I saw you. I don’t know if it’s the weight, or the hair, but it agrees with you, buddy.

    I have started running again, as well. Nothing like what you are describing, but I do feel better than when I was a couch potato. The only thing getting in the way is too much study. And work. And whatever else I need to get in the way….

    Take care.

  3. Law school is the best thing I’ve done in a long time. I wish I could stay in school forever, but I don’t think that’s going to work.

    You’re not just a bit balder. When I last saw you, you were close to sporting a retro ’70s look.

    Take care. I gotta go hit the books.

Leave a Reply

