Revisiting the Color Line

Working Conference Paper: Revisiting the Problem of the Twentieth Century: Will Evangelical and Faith-Based Schools Mend the Color Line in the Twenty-First Century?

In my recent paper, I get to discuss the black and white point of view about segregation.

From the point of view of blacks and their white allies, desegregation needed to happen since segregation not only violated the 14th amend of the Constitution, but separate and equal were deemed wholly unconstitutional in 1954. Hence, as noted by Thomas Jones of the U.S Bureau of Education,  “Inadequacy and poverty are the outstanding characteristics of every type and grade of education for Negroes.” So, the state perpetuated the notion of cyclical poverty and inferiority among blacks. Jim Crow marked decades of institutional problems. However, anti-desegregation whites believed that the matter of education was not addressed in the Constitution. Actors such as members of the Dixiecrat Party viewed it as a 10th amend matter. Democrats and many Republicans held true to this too. Thus according to segregationist, the construct of states’ rights should manifest the will of the majority. I guess the point to ponder is to what extent were whites pro-segregation.

Segregationist whites viewed the race issue as a violation of state sovereignty and a Constitutional matter. I am still unclear about why.

One thought on “Revisiting the Color Line

  1. I thought this was an interesting comment I read. This person clearly does not get it. He does not see anything wrong with his take.

    No, I am not racist. I don’t understand what is wrong with people having the control to segregate themselves. The government shouldn’t be allowed to tell people where to live, who to sit next to, or anything else remotely similar. The government however, should enforce equality. All I am saying is, I keep company with individuals who respect me and themselves, hardworking people who have solid values and strive for progress in every aspect of life. I should be able to live among people like that, no?? Now, what happens if I want to live around people like that who just happen to be black??

    I understand where whites come from when they want to segregate themselves, I see nothing wrong with it. Heck, I don’t care to live around ghetto hoodrats who hate to work, are loud, violent and don’t care about their property let alone the children’s education. I just feel with the poor relations between blacks and whites, coming out of slavery and all, that the government did a great disservice to the american people by enforcing integration, which I truly believe they only did because they did not want to grant blacks equality. If blacks were allowed the chance to build up their own communities and gain social footing by way of ambition and not legislation, things would be entirely different. I just feel that the government has socially handicapped blacks for so long and now its too late. Oh well……

Leave a Reply

