Teaching Via Harkness

As a history teacher, I am not a fan of lecturing as a method of instruction; I realize it has its place, and there are times when students need information delivered to them using this forum. Years ago I adopted the Harkness Method of teaching. Here is a video discussing what Harkness is.There is this notion that if you teach History — you must stand and lecture to students. If students are not copious note takers, they are not doing history. I know of history teachers who prefer students not to buy a text so they can take notes (bad)!!! Often times, I say very little and we have the most thought provoking classes ever. I do have this down to a science.

One thought on “Teaching Via Harkness

Leave a Reply

