Christian Scholars Conference, 2014 Part II

I am addressing the Christian Scholars’ Conference at Lipscomb University. Michelle Mikeska and Stephanie M. Eddleman with Michael Brown and myself discussed issues of race, sexuality, pacifism, and gender in conservative institutions. In my second panel session, I served on a panel with Jeff Baker, Jeanine Thweatt-Bates, Scott Lybrand, Julie Mavity Maddalena as we discussed being an ally and the power of white male heterosexuals.

CSC Panel II

CSCIV

I was asked about my paper. Beyond the intro, the bulk of it addresses race. In truth, it is two papers in one. I made an effort to represent both for the purpose of awareness. Our allies are growing.

“Invitation to the Voiceless Minority.”
Michael Brown, The University of Alabama at Birmingham, Convener
Edward Carson, Panel Chair, The Brooks School, North Andover, MA, “Racial Reflection and Sexual Identity: The Challenges of Silence in Conservative Institutions”
Michelle Mikeska, Houston Christian, “A Nonviolent Hermeneutic: How to Promote Peace in Confessional Institutions”
Stephanie Eddleman, Harding University, “Female Voices of Faith: The Untold Stories”

AllyCSCII

My second panel: “How to be an Ally: Hearing and Receiving Voices from the Margins of the Church and the Academy.”
Jeffrey R. Baker, Pepperdine University School of Law, Convener
Edward Carson, The Brooks School, Panelist
Scott Lybrand, Episcopal Charities and Community Services, Panelist
Julie A. Mavity Maddalena, Southern Methodist University, Panelist
Jeanine Thweatt-Bates, Princeton Theological Seminary, Panelist

2 thoughts on “Christian Scholars Conference, 2014 Part II

  1. Professor Carson, I was in both of your paper sessions and found your energy, research, and passion to me off the chart. I am now convinced of my errors, but also, the work I need to do on my campus. Hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

