Diversity Matters

Diversity Seminar

As a teacher who is passionate about the plight of different people — those who are like me as well as different from myself, I have made it my truth, journey, and mission to surround myself with differences. Holding to this belief means that I cannot be in institutions that struggle in their mission of accepting others. I was challenged this summer to think about the folks in my life. What do they look like? Who are they? How do I want my students to see my relationship with others? It takes work to create meaningful and diverse relationships; I am ready for the challenge. I think about the meaningful relationships I created with the above group this summer; I do not want that to dissipate; hence, I am focusing my efforts on creating a bond with people who love and care about other people: Black, White, Asian, Hispanic, Gay, Lesbian, Queer, Bisexual, Transgender, Muslim, Christian, Agnostic, and Atheist; it does not matter. This is the kind of diversity that allows people to grow in their intellect, religious briefs, compassion, and mission. Diversity is at the heart of education. 

DSCN3429

The image above is one of my favorites; I was asked if I am pro-gay recently. I stated NO; I am pro-people. If that means supporting love — so be it. Marriage equality and having LGBTQ friends is about being pro-people. My intellect is driven on the notion that diversity of others allows us to be better people. 

One thought on “Diversity Matters

  1. Your comment about being “pro people” is at the heart of what we’ve been circling around on Facebook about race. I’m convinced that racism is, at its heart, about failing to see one another as fellow human beings. While I don’t want to sidetrack the very important and difficult conversations we have to have about race, particularly in this country and particularly now, I also don’t want to focus on the symptom and not the disease. We are a racist society because we fail to practice simple empathy.

Leave a Reply

