The Cross and LGBTQ Matters

CBrlOqiUEAEszpk

This past Easter Sunday I heard our school minister speak on Jesus as a person who championed diversity. He embraced all people and focused his efforts on love. I am one who greatly appreciates our chaplain’s wisdom, compassion, love, and empathy for all people. I am one who believes in the good of religion, particularly Christianity. I have seen its beauty first hand. Sure, I am not a highly religious person. And, I have just as much doubt as my fellow atheist; however, I have elected to work with Christians who value others and appreciate the beauty of love, empathy, and compassion for others.

My wife and her family represents Christians who love Jesus and believe in such teaching. I am troubled, however, by Christians who see otherwise. Further, I am bothered because they feel empowered to be the ponds of politicians who are playing a game for votes; we have seen this before. The manipulation of people for political gain. Now, there are those who are Christian that have their own agenda. I am sure Christ would warn them against using hate to advance his mission.

On the other hand, I am bothered by non-Christians who group all Christians, Muslims, and Jews together. Many have little to no knowledge of religion. They use poor Christopher Hitchens like examples to dismiss the good of religious people. I have even concluded that they, like some Christians, have their own agenda. And, some but not all is based on silly claims. I am also bothered by their lack of religious understanding.

In the end, I would like both sides to place their own interest aside for the good of love, compassion, empathy, and righteousness in a plural quasi-democratic society. As an academic who is well-balanced in terms of emotions, I have an obligation to help both parties. We shall see.

7 thoughts on “The Cross and LGBTQ Matters

  1. I think the big demarcation isn’t as much between religious/non-religious as it is between people who believe in being inclusive (some of whom are religious, others not), and those whose emphasis is upon exclusivity (some of whom are religious, others not). Either everyone is welcome to the table for sustenance, or not.

    • You have a great point. But in the end, it seems that folks who are in this cultural war, one that has existed since the 1970s, are the ones with mics. I think we are close to everyone being at the table. Unfortunately, it will take the Supreme Court to get folks to play nice. I question the role of politicians who have a vested interest in manipulating this matter for themselves. History has proven this to be true.

  2. Can you be more specific with what you mean when you said these other Christians feel empowered to be the pawns of politicians who are playing a game for votes? Do you mean these politicians are pushing certain issues (I’m guessing given the timing of this post, a RFRA is on your mind) that they don’t actually care about one way or another, but they push it to make sure people keep voting for them?

    • I am not sure if they believe this or not. I do believe that some are pushing this as a means of garnering votes in a political season. The best example of this was the 2004 election. This was made front and center when there were more pressing things to address.

  3. Carson,

    I love your thoughts on this matter. This is the kind of stuff we need to be thinking about and working toward.

Leave a Reply

