Classic Ellison Scene

Ralph Ellison’s protagonist in his Invisible Man addresses the woman question, as a wealthy female and comrade to the movement discusses her wealth. I love this scene as she admits the pleasure but sins of her wealth. “You can see, Brother…it is really the spiritual values of Brotherhood that interest me. Through no effort of my own, I have economic security and leisure, but what is that, really, when so much is wrong with the world? I mean when there is no spiritual or emotional security, and no justice?”

Leave a Reply

