Harkness Teaching

I have been a Harkness seminar teacher for 11/12 years now; I cannot imagine teaching in any other capacity. There is something great about sitting at a seminar table with students and training them to talk to each other. My best teaching has come when I say very little in class. Poor teaching for me is when I talk too much. This is a fantastic interview, particularly the part that discusses iPads and lap top computers in classes. They address the weakness of dependency of such tools, rather than students who work collectively to solve a problem and come to a conclusion. There is room for such, but only as a mere tool. How can students fully engage in listening to each other when they are looking at a screen or playing on the Net? Phillips Exeter Academy is an amazing school. I have enjoyed my visits and observations.

Leave a Reply

