Research, Writing, and Sharing

I have a number of projects that need my attention during the break. I am finishing up my research on W.E.B. Du Bois and the Western Color Line. I will be joining a great group of academics at the African American Intellectual History Society Conference at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in March. I will blog more about this and the progress of my research. Because my desire is to publish this work, a paper I am really excited about, I have elected a new approach. I will write the journal article first, then I will edit it down into my conference paper. This will be a new approach for me — seeing that I have always started my thinking at the conference level. Changing my approach should allow for solid feedback at the conference. The key is editing a journal piece down from 25 – 30 pages to a 10 – 12 page work. This is also a topic I aim to discuss in my spring African-American Studies seminar.

Screen Shot 2015-12-18 at 5.47.31 PM

Above is the title of a current piece I am drafting. I should have submitted this by now, but slowed by other things. This paper aims to discuss a teaching approach I want to share with teachers about the teaching and learning of historical thinking skills.

Leave a Reply

