#NotMyPresident

US-VOTE-REACTION

I recently shared my post-Trump feelings with many who follow me on social media.

Here is a window of my Wednesday: You are walking across campus and a colleague walks up to speak, only to break down in tears. Or, a colleague walks down the hall to visit –only to break down. When you have to dismiss yourself from class because you want to cry. Your wife admits that she lost it in the shower. Students of color line up to see you — but cannot talk because they are in tears. That was my day yesterday. They (we) are hurt because America has spoken and told us what many value. But, the biggest looser in all of this might just be evangelical Christians. As I told my Mom last night, they have reaffirmed to many such as myself why we do not share their values.

3 thoughts on “#NotMyPresident

  1. I was not a Trump supporter and did not cast a vote for him but am now in a cautiously optimistic holding pattern that the worse tendencies he’s displayed will be held in check by the gravity of assuming office and by those within the Republican Party that didn’t hop aboard the Trump Train. Only time will tell now.

    That being said, I am particularly enjoying the apoplectic reactions (the tears are so delicious) being displayed by people who are apparently adults, and teenagers who should be striving to be mature adults, yet are reacting like children who had their candy taken away.

    It was particularly satisfying seeing the ladies at Wellesley melt-down, if for no other reason than the utter hypocrisy on display of celebrating the potential of the first woman president, whether she attended Wellesley or not. If Carly Fiorina had somehow been the Republican nominee running against Bernie Sanders, everyone one knows damn well there would have been no viewing party to celebrate that the first woman president was potentially going to be elected, because Fiorina would not be the “right” kind of woman. It’s not about women, it’s about liberal women.

    I lament the fact that Barack Obama has been president for the past 8 years, but as an American, he is my president whether I wanted him to be or not. Trump is the president-elect and will be your president and every other American’s president whether they wanted it or not, silly virtue-signaling hashtags notwithstanding Everyone should stop crying and get on with their lives. If I learned anything from these past 8 years, it is that it never ends up being as bad as one might think even in what feels like the darkest hour.

  2. Had a similar discussion about this with some colleagues at work on Wednesday. We talked about why we haven’t necessarily shared our political opinions/beliefs because of where we work (or even outside of where we work to a point)–and that needs to stop. We have to stand up for what is right, for each other, for our neighbors.

  3. As white and male and Christian, I’m at a loss for what to say to my grieving friends. I grieve with you, but I fear my sentiments ring hollow because of my privileged status. If my words do not resonate, please forgive me.

    Your final comment re: not sharing values with the evangelical Christian community—
    I wonder if we might draw up a list of values that we find in common. As a post-evangelical Christian who has found his way back to ancient practices from a more egalitarian age (before Constantine legitimized Christianity…when Christians were powerless and oppressed), here is what I’m coming up with:

    (1) The life-changing work of the Spirit. Jesus tells us that our bodies are temples for the Holy Spirit. God lives in you and me, and God can work miracles at any time through anyone. In this moment, let’s be receptive to the urges that the Spirit works inside of us, the urge to peace, love, and reconciliation.

    (2) The City on the Hill is as effing egalitarian as it gets. Even Paul, who I have vilified in my mind for much of my adult life, says: “Neither Jew nor Greek, neither male nor female, but all are one in Christ Jesus” (Gal 3:28-ish). The “beloved community” that MLK envisioned is the City on the Hill is the Kingdom of Heaven is the coming together of peoples in spite of class and other divisions. While the politics of our nation (and others like the UK) seeks to divide, it is the Christian’s call NOT to discriminate, but to reconcile and bring together.

    (3) God’s perfect light casts out fear. While many votes for Donald Trump were cast out of fear–when will my factory be up and running again? how will I remain at the top of the food chain? what if America isn’t the shining beacon I believed it to be?–we must acknowledge that these insecurities are just that: insecurities. These insecurities are borne out of fear and when the light of God shines on those fear we’ll see that the bigotry and homophobia is baseless and, quite frankly, un-Christian.

    (4) Jesus came to the outcasts. Women, Samaritans, lepers, tax collectors, shepherds, prostitutes: These are Jesus’s friends. In God’s Kingdom, the last shall be first and the first shall be last. Those that are well-fed now will be hungry later. Jesus comes to the poor and the powerless, the silent and the outcast, and he brings them into the Kingdom not as peasants but as full-fledged members with all of the rights and responsibilities that come along with that.

    If the evangelical community can’t get on board with those four ideas, then I fear that they simply haven’t read the New Testament. If they haven’t done that, then I don’t know what they’re doing with their and I don’t know why they’re claiming Christ as King at all. Jesus doesn’t care about your political affiliations, sexual orientation, gender identity, or ethnic identity. He loves all and unconditionally. That’s the Good News.

Leave a Reply

